TSX VSN $  ()

Board of Directors

Stephen WC Mulherin

Stephen W.C. Mulherin

Chairman of the Board
Committee Membership:

Director since October 1997

Steve Mulherin is a partner at Polar Capital. He joined the partnership in 1997 and opened the Polar office in Calgary. He has experience as both an operator and private equity investor. Mr. Mulherin was the CEO and Chairman of Wittke Inc. prior to its sale in 2002. In addition, he has acted as CEO of an international construction company with over $700 million in revenues and 3500 employees before it was successfully sold. He has participated on numerous boards and is a Governor and Vice Chair of Strathcona Tweedsmuir School. Prior to joining Polar, he was Chief Financial Officer and VP Corporate Development of a major a Canadian diversified operating company in transportation and energy services and prior to that, with a major Canadian bank in Corporate Banking. Steve received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Queen’s University and is a graduate of the Executive Management Program at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business.

Don L Althoff

Don L. Althoff

Director since November 2012

Mr. Althoff is a senior business executive with a proven track record of delivering results across a range of energy businesses within a “Fortune 25” company. He has deep knowledge of the fuels supply chain marketplace, including manufacturing, pipeline, terminal, trading and retail sales. Most recently, Mr. Althoff was Chief Executive Officer of Flex Fuels US LLC. He was also with BP PLC and Amoco Corporation for 27 years. He brings to Veresen extensive operating expertise and his leadership will be instrumental in Veresen’s future growth.

Mr. Althoff holds a Bachelor of Engineering from the University of Illinois, has completed financial management studies at Indiana University, and management programs at Stanford and Harvard universities.

J Paul Charron

J. Paul Charron

Committee Membership:
Compensation (Chair), Audit

Director since January 2011

Paul Charron is the President and CEO of CanEra Energy Corp., a private oil and gas company, and is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of CanEra Resources Inc., a private oil and gas company acquired by Legacy Oil & Gas Inc. in mid-2010. Following the acquisition of CanEra Resources, he joined the board of directors of Legacy Oil & Gas Inc. Previously, he was President and Chief Executive Officer of Canetic Resources Trust and its predecessor, Acclaim Energy Trust. Mr. Charron also previously held the position of Vice President, Finance and CFO of Ketch Energy Ltd., senior positions with the Investment Banking group of BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc. and was Vice President, Finance of Morrison Petroleum Ltd. He has also served as a director of a number of public companies in the oil and gas industry. Mr. Charron holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Ottawa and is a Chartered Accountant.

Maureen E Howe

Maureen E. Howe

Committee Membership:
Audit, Environment,
Health & Safety

Director since May 2012

Formerly a Managing Director at RBC Capital Markets in equity research, Maureen Howe was regularly a top ranked analyst in Canada by independent industry surveys. She specialized in the area of energy infrastructure, which included power generation, transmission and distribution, oil and gas transmission and distribution, gas processing, and alternative energy. Prior to joining RBC Capital Markets, Ms. Howe held finance positions in the utility industry, investment banking and portfolio management. She is a director of TimberWest Forest Corp., and the Canadian Securities Institute Foundation. She is also a member of the Board of Governors of the University of British Columbia, Chairperson of the Phillips, Hager & North Centre for Financial Research, and a board member of the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia. Ms. Howe holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) from the University of Manitoba and a Ph.D. in Finance from the University of British Columbia.

Robert J Iverach

Robert J. Iverach, Q.C.

Committee Membership:
Corporate Governance & Nominating,
Compensation, Audit

Director since May 2007

Bob Iverach has been in practice as a tax lawyer in Calgary for more than 35 years. Mr. Iverach practiced with Felesky Flynn LLP from May, 1978 until December, 2005. He has extensive experience dealing with financial statements, financial planning and tax matters pertaining to a large array of public and private corporations, partnerships, income trusts and individuals. Mr. Ivarach has been a member of the Law Society of Alberta since 1972. He graduated from the University of Calgary with a Bachelor of Arts degree, from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Laws degree and from the London School of Economics with a Masters of Laws degree in 1971. Mr. Iverach sits on the Board of Avalite Inc. He has completed the program offered by the Institute of Corporate Directors, including sessions devoted to Audit Committee functions, and is entitled to use the designation ICD.D.

Rebecca A McDonald

Rebecca A. McDonald

Committee Membership:
Corporate Governance & Nominating (Chair),
Environment, Health & Safety

Director since July 2008

Rebecca McDonald has served as Chief Executive Officer of Laurus Energy Inc. since December 2008. Laurus Energy Inc. is involved in underground coal gasification project development. Rebecca has more than 25 years experience in the energy industry. Ms. McDonald has been responsible for the development, construction and operation of natural gas and liquids pipelines, gas and electricity distribution companies, as well as power plant and gas processing facilities in North America, Asia, Africa and South America. She previously served as President, Gas and Power, BHP Billiton from March 2004 to September 2007, and, from October 2001 to January 2004, she served as President of the Houston Museum of Natural Science. Ms. McDonald serves on the Board of Granite Construction Company. She holds a Bachelor of Sciences degree in Education from Stephen F. Austin State University.

Henry W Sykes

Henry W. Sykes

Committee Membership: Environment,
Health & Safety (Chair),
Corporate Governance & Nominating

Director since January 2011

Henry Sykes is President and a director of MGM Energy Corp. MGM Energy Corp. is a Canadian energy company focused on the acquisition and development of hydrocarbon resources in Canada’s Northwest Territories and Arctic regions. Henry was President of ConocoPhillips Canada from 2001 to 2006. Prior thereto, he was Executive Vice-President, Business Development of Gulf Canada Resources. He began his career as a lawyer and specialized in mergers and acquisitions, securities and corporate law. Mr. Sykes has a Bachelor of Arts in economics from McGill University and a law degree from the University of Toronto.

Bertrand A Valdman

Bertrand A. Valdman

Committee Membership: Audit (Chair),
Corporate Governance & Nominating

Director since July 2008

Bert Valdman is Senior Vice President of Strategic Planning for Edison International. He is responsible for directing the strategy of Edison International, which is the parent company of Southern California Edison, one of the largest utilities in the U.S. Prior to joining Edison International, Mr. Valdman was Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Puget Sound Energy where he was responsible for regulated electric and natural gas distribution operations, as well as the Customer Service, Information Technology, and Community Affairs functions. He also served as Puget Energy’s Chief Financial Officer from 2003 through 2007. He is also a faculty member of the University of Idaho College of Business and Finance Utility Executive Program. Mr. Valdman has a Bachelor’s degree in history from Northwestern University and master’s and doctoral degrees from Stanford University.

Back to Top